Play with Sound

3 crowd video games with live orchestra

Play with Sound is a series of three small crowd-gaming titles conceived of by Maxime Goulet and developed by Jérôme Delapierre. The three games are Become a Wizard, Catch the Stars and Bomb the Skull.

During the concert, the audience plays the game by moving a ball in response to projections on the screen to collect magic objects, assemble constellations or set off bombs. These crowd games aim to get the members of the audience working together to achieve a common goal.

The series’ title refers to a question put to players at the start of many video games—“Play with sound? Yes/No”—to determine whether they want to play with the audio on.

Instrumentation: 3(1.2.3/picc)3 (1.2.3/ehr)22 / 4231 / 1 pno-cel / 1 hrp / 1 timp+3 / strings

Duration: 5 to 15 minutes (flexible duration)

Commissioned by the Orchestre métropolitain.

Premiere: September 29th, 2017, by the Orchestre Métropolitain and conductor Dina Gilbert, during the Montreal Video Game Symphony, at the Salle Wilfried-Pelletier, in Montreal, QC, Canada.

Performances of Play with Sound

2017, Sept. 29 | Orchestre MétropolitainDina Gilbert | Wilfrid-Pelletier, Montreal, QC, Canada (premiere)