Symphonic Chocolates

Orchestral Sweets in Four Flavours

“An off-the-wall idea that makes classical music more festive. […] Symphonic Chocolates is pure happiness.”
Patrick Masbourian, Radio-Canada

“An original idea supported by a clever music, immediately pleasant and very cinematographic.”
Christophe Huss, Le Devoir

“A new experience on a whole other level! 
CBC, Daybreak Montreal

A chocolate tasting at the symphony: Maxime Goulet’s Symphonic Chocolates is a delicious sensory experience.”
CBC, InTune

“The audience enthusiastically participated in both eating and listening and thoroughly enjoyed both, especially the dark chocolate habanera.”
Ontario Arts Review

“Symphonic Chocolates should be among the regular repertoire of all orchestras. It has proved a huge success with musicians and audience.” 
Boris Brott

“A very cool idea and a fun experience!
Global News

Symphonic Chocolates is a soundtrack for chocolate tasting. It’s an orchestral suite in four short movements in which each movement evokes a different flavour of chocolate. During the concert, the audience is invited to eat four small chocolates while each movement of corresponding flavour is being played.
I – Caramel Chocolate: A long lyrical melody supported by a rich and enveloping sonority.
II – Dark Chocolate: An intense habanera of desire and seduction, spiced up with a dissonant bitterness.
III – Mint Chocolate: A delicate freshness with icy cold sonorities.
IV – Coffee-infused Chocolate: An espresso tempo with a Brazilian flavour.

– Version for classical orchestra: 2222 / 2200 / 1 perc (optional) / strings
– Version for chamber orchestra: 1111 / 1000 / 1 perc (optional) / strings
– Version for wind orchestra (arr. Paul Suchan)
– Version for wind quintet *
– Version for string orchestra and piano * (arr. Maxime Goulet & Eric Jones Cadieux)
– Version for string orchestra
– Version for string quintet and piano * (arr. Maxime Goulet & Eric Jones Cadieux)
– Version for string quintet
– Version for string quartet
– Version for two violins and piano ** (arr. Maxime Goulet & Eric Jones Cadieux)
– Version for solo violin and piano * (arr. Maxime Goulet & Eric Jones Cadieux)
– Version for solo flute and piano * (arr. Maxime Goulet & Eric Jones Cadieux)
– Version for solo clarinet and piano * (arr. Maxime Goulet & Eric Jones Cadieux)

* This version includes only the 4th movement, Coffee-infused Chocolate
** This version includes only the 2nd movement, Dark Chocolate

Duration: 12 minutes

Suggested program: Symphonic Chocolates is often performed for Valentines Day and for Mother’s Day

Commissioned by the National Academy Orchestra of Canada, and their artistic director Boris Brott, as part of a composer residency, for the 25th anniversary of the Brott Music Festival. The piece is dedicated to Ardyth and Boris Brott to thank them for all the artistic support they have given to the composer.

Premiere: August 2nd, 2012, by the National Academy Orchestra of Canada and the conductor Boris Brott, during the Brott Music Festival, in Hamilton.

Discography: Symphonic Chocolates was recorded by the Prague FILMharmonic Orchestra and maestro Adam Klemens and is featured on the album Chocolats symphoniques, published in 2014.

Official web site of Symphonic Chocolates:

Version for String Quartet
Media Coverage of Symphonic Chocolates

Interview with Maxime Goulet about Symphonic Chocolates

Coverage about Symphonic Chocolates concerts in France

Performances of: Symphonic Chocolates